Fuji XT3 vs. XT2 REVIEW

In this review i´m testing the Fuji XT-3 vs. my loved Fuji XT-2, a camera which i have since 2016 and i´m still using this fantastic mirrorless camera, so i know it very well and also what it can do.

This review video is not about telling you every single spec detail about the new Fuji XT-3, too many people done that before and you have probably seen 1000+ review videos already. In my comparison video i´m looking at the details of these cameras which are most interesting to me and what i found very interesting after comparing these great cameras.

I´m also not going to repeat everything here in this blogpost, it would be far too much work, so make shure you watch my review video and subscribe to dsphotoblog´s YouTube channel here: www.youtube.com/dsphotoblog

ABOUT THE FUJI XT-3

If you don´t know what the Fuji XT-3 is capable of, here are the amazing specs:

Imaging
Lens MountFujifilm X Mount
Camera FormatAPS-C (1.5x Crop Factor)
Pixels26.1 Megapixel
Max Resolution6240 x 4160
Aspect Ratio1:1, 3:2, 16:9
Sensor Type / SizeCMOS, 23.5 x 15.6 mm BSI
File FormatsStill Images: JPEG, RAW
Movies: AVC/H.264, HEVC/H.265, MOV
Audio: Linear PCM (Stereo)
Bit Depth14-Bit
Dust Reduction SystemYes
Memory Card TypeSD
SDHC
SDXC
AV Recording
Video RecordingYes, NTSC/PAL
Video Format4096 x 2160p at 23.98/24/25/29.97/50/59.94 fps
(400, 200, 100 Mb/s MOV)
3840 x 2160p at 23.98/24/25/29.97/50/59.94 fps
(400, 200, 100 Mb/s MOV)
2048 x 1080p at 23.98/24/25/29.97/50/59.94 fps
(200, 100, 50 Mb/s MOV)
1920 x 1080p at
23.98/24/25/29.97/50/
59.94/100/120 fps
(200, 100, 50 Mb/s MOV)
Aspect Ratio16:9
Video Clip LengthUp to 29 Minutes 59 Seconds
Audio RecordingBuilt-In Mic: With Video (Stereo)
Optional External Mic: With Video (Stereo)
Focus Control
Focus TypeAuto & Manual Focus
Focus ModeContinuous-Servo AF (C), Manual Focus (M), Single-servo AF (S)
Autofocus PointsPhase Detection: 2160000
Viewfinder/Display
Viewfinder TypeElectronic
Viewfinder Size0.5″
Viewfinder Pixel Count3,690,000
Viewfinder Eye Point23.00 mm
Viewfinder Coverage100%
Viewfinder MagnificationApprox. 0.75x
Diopter Adjustment-4 to +2 m
Display Screen3″ Rear Touchscreen 
Tilting LCD
(1,040,000)
Screen Coverage100%
Exposure Control
ISO SensitivityAuto, 160 to 12800 (Extended Mode:80 to 51200)
ShutterType: Mechanical
Speed: 900 to 1/8000 Second 
Type: Electronic
Speed: 900 to 1/32000 Second 
Type: Electronic & Mechanical
Speed: 60 to 0 Minute in Bulb Mode
Remote ControlRR-100 (Optional)
Metering MethodAverage Metering, Center-Weighted Average Metering, Multi-Zone Metering, Spot Metering
Exposure ModesModes: Aperture Priority, Manual, Program, Shutter Priority
Compensation: -5 EV to +5 EV (in 1/3 EV Steps)
White Balance ModesAutomatic Scene Recognition, Color Temperature, Custom, Fine, Fluorescent (Cool White), Fluorescent (Daylight), Fluorescent (Warm White), Incandescent, Shade, Underwater
Buffer/Continuous ShootingUp to 11 fps at 26.1 MP for up to 145 Frames in JPEG Format
Up to 11 fps at 26.1 MP for up to 42 Frames in Raw Format
Up to 8 fps at 26.1 MP for up to 200 Frames in JPEG Format
Up to 8 fps at 26.1 MP for up to 49 Frames in Raw Format
Up to 5.7 fps at 26.1 MP for Unlimited 60 Frames in JPEG Format
Up to 5.7 fps at 26.1 MP for up to 62 Frames in Raw Format
Up to 30 fps at 16.6 MP for up to 60 Frames in JPEG Format
Up to 30 fps at 16.6 MP for up to 35 Frames in Raw Format
Up to 20 fps at 16.6 MP for up to 114 Frames in JPEG Format
Up to 20 fps at 16.6 MP for up to 37 Frames in Raw Format
Up to 10 fps at 16.6 MP for up to 500 Frames in JPEG Format
Up to 10 fps at 16.6 MP for up to 48 Frames in Raw Format

XT-3 vs. XT-2 ISO COMPARISON

Here is an ISO comparison which i made, like you can see in these image samples the XT-3 high ISO shots looks less grainy. Like i said i´m using the Fuji XT-2 since 2016 and i never ever really used higher ISO settings than ISO 6400 with it. The XT-3 has a new sensor which is backside-illuminated but also has a higher resolution than the X-T2 of 26.1 megapixels.

Like i said in the video a lot of youtubers, reviewers repeated the same thing all over again that the XT-2 has better high ISO performance. I really don´t know how all of them did their tests, but its the same thing everytime a new camera comes out everyone wants to be the first on youtube, web… who publishes their results first.

If you look at these real world comparison shots the XT-3 files do look less grainy especially at ISO 12800. All of these images are shot in raw and NO noise reduction was applied. (Exported from capture one)

The XT-2 shots where made with the Fujinon 16mm 1.4 and the XT-3 shots with the Fujinon kitlens 18-55. Some could ask “why didn´t you use the same lens?” Simply because it doesen´t really matter, the iso setting was the same on both cameras and i have adjusted the shutterspeed on each camera to get a correct exposure, just like you would normally do in a real world situation. I´ve cropped the ISO 12800 shots for those who don´t believe this:

REAL WORLD SAMPLE SHOTS

PURPLE GRID SHOOTOUT

The XT-2 has a very nasty purple grid issue unfortunately if you shoot against the bright sunlight you can get purple grids in your images. With the new sensor in the XT-3 this has changed and i would say that the purple grid is now pretty much gone, allthough you can still see some purple like you can see in these examples:

ADDITIONAL WORDS

Now does this mean that the XT-2 is a bad camera? Of course NOT, the XT2 is still an amazing camera and i´m definetly keeping my XT-2 and i will never sell it, it will become my second body which i will use for photos and videos. Whats the benefit of having 2 cameras? The answer is very simple, you don´t have to switch lenses and i can use the XT-3 for landscapes… with the Fujinon 16mm 1.4 for example, while i use the Fuji X-T2 with the Fujinon 50-140 2.8 telezoom lens. +If one camera should be in repair or brakes i still have a backup to shoot with and enjoy.